Friendly Chatty People – Beware

 

So today is one of those days. A day where I am moody, grumpy, foul and sinister. Or, well potentially sinister. It’s all in your head, really, but my head is grumpy.
Why do friendly people pounce on you on days like today? I mean, I’m happy enough. I’m a happy type of person. It’s not like every day is a party or a praise fest, but I’m a happy enough person. I’m a complete romantic, I’m totally idealistic and naive in a great many ways. I try to love my fellow man, and I’ve been told I have a tender heart a number of times.

Still, I’m a surly little cur on a fairly regular basis.

Why can’t happy annoying people pick this up and leave you alone when you are like this?

I’m not good with small talk. I like good conversations, about real stuff. I don’t want to hear about how you cooked your dinner last night or how many times your daughter spit up on you. Well, it’s not that I DON’T want to hear these things. I don’t actually mind what the topic of conversation is, but I hate little chit chat in the office. Let me do my fucking work. I mean, I don’t mind talking here and there, but non-stop girly chatter makes me crazy.

Now, if you were talking about comic books, or Spike TV, or action figures, maybe I wouldn’t mind as much. But no, there are just days when I don’t feel like being grossly social like most gabby chatty women are supposed to be. Why can’t women understand that I am not like them?

Ok, and even if they can’t figure out that I am not like them, because they didn’t happen to notice that I wear cat ears I bought at Hot Topic, or they didn’t notice that I dress like a tomboy half the time, or they didn’t notice that I never go to any of the social activities they arrange where everyone’s family can meet everyone else’s family, can’t they at least tell from my face that I am not sociable on certain days?

I’m fairly certain that my cross, grumpy, sour face today should have made it plain to anyone with eyeballs that you don’t want to talk to me today. What is the deal?

I think I’m going to have to create my own beauty pageant banner to wear, that says “Leave Her the Fuck Alone”. Maybe that will get the hint across.

(addendum: some people are ok to approach me. the people i really like. the rest of everybody should note the banner. approach with caution if you are not a lover or bestest friend)

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on May 13, 2010, in crabby panties, thoughts and reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment