denelleiopedia ~ “Tick-Tockery”

“Tick-Tockery” is one of my favorite words.

Years upon years ago I read Gregory Maguire’s engrossing book “Wicked” and fell madly in love with the character Alphaba.  This book was one of the few that imprinted itself so strongly on my being, I came away thinking of the world, looking at the world in a different way.  It’s like the book gave me a whole new sense to work with – a seventh sense, since I already have a pretty good sixth sense – or opened a door in me that showed me how to travel to different realities.  When the book was turned into a musical, my sister and I went with a dear friend, and it was extraordinary.  If possible, maybe even better than the book.

The stage was set with lovely designs that incorporated many of the ideas in the book.  If you hadn’t read the book you might not know why the hell there was a huge clock on the stage, but the set pieces all had meaning and charm to me.  And there were these lovely clockworks and gears, and I called them “Tick-Tockery”.  I said, “oooo, look at all the Tick-Tockery they have!”

Since then this word has come to mean:

gadgets, gears, clockwork, ornamentation, James Bond type toys and Mission Impossible style undercover work, pretty fastenings, old machinery, and Steampunk stylings. 

Yummmm…I love it all…

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on June 14, 2011, in denelleiopedia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Then I, too, love “Tick-Tockery” also. Hardcore steampunker here!

  1. Pingback: the dunder dictionary | acci dental hap piness

Leave a comment