MAD Monday

I can’t believe it’s been a whole week since my life-changing day of MAD Monday.

explanation:

I’ve been doing a recurring blog that I think has made a huge impact in my life, and I wanted to share just in case – you know – it’s a magical formula for world peace or something.  Of course, if it is I probably should have Trade Marked it and bottled it for maximum financial rewards…ah well.  I must be a philanthropist at heart.

Every Monday on my blog “Luv Lansing” (that’s where I live, Lansing) I do a feature called “MAD Monday”.  This stands for Make A Difference Monday.  There is a Make A Difference Day, and I just decided, hell…Mondays kind of tend to suck, so why I’m I waiting all year to Make A Difference when I could just waste a little lousy Monday time making a difference.

And then, lousy Monday started making a difference on me.  In my Make A Difference Monday blogs,  I tend to post approximately four different volunteer opportunities for people in my area to get involved with.  Usually I find out about these on Volunteer Match.  These might be things like volunteer as a sign up reception person at the Red Cross, or help out at the YMCA.  And then I post a little information about the group, a picture or two, link to them so people can go right to the source, or direct them through Volunteer Match so they can check out MORE opportunities if they like.

Well here’s the thing: I’ve always wanted to do this kind of thing.  Volunteer here or there; donate monies to worthy organizations; travel the world working with doctors in underdeveloped countries or helping to save the dolphins. Or some other far reaching idea that is equal to raising unicorns on a sandy beach or having a barn full of dragons.  You know?  Because I am a civil worker, and live on a very meager income at this point in my life.  And I live FINE, but it’s not like I’m able to contribute to all these groups I would like to contribute to, or pick up and go to Africa for a month to help re-establish the dwindling cheetah community.

makeamon

MAD Monday
photo by Molly Kearney

So I’ve sort of been putting off contributing…until I had all the extra millions I will make from being a smart ass, once the world decides it really should financially support those of us who are caustic, wry and smart assy.  I’ve been wanting to donate, but I guess waiting for … extra.

And doing this weekly article about volunteering has suddenly made the leap in my brain.  Even if I can’t volunteer myself today, I can help someone else volunteer.  Someone who maybe doesn’t have to go to work, because they have a sugar daddy, or they are retired, or they just have oodles of cash they found in their previous job as a pillaging pirate.  And now, every week, I look forward to that crappy Monday morning, because I know I’m going to get this buzz from the blog.  And it’s OK that I’m saying this all wrong, and not magically, so that you think “Oh My God, this is the most awesome thing ever, and I will do this in MY community!”  Because I’m a little crazy right now, cause I’ve just done the MAD Monday blog, and it makes me a little hyper, and excited about life, or it makes me sit and cry all day, like last week.  And luckily for me, it builds my karma points, so that I can go to work the rest of the week and deplete all those karma points and still come out OK in the end, cause my MAD Monday gave me so many extra.

Weeee…see?  It’s good for you!

Go here to see my blog, and maybe you’ll do one in your own city??  MAD Monday rocks!

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on August 26, 2013, in random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

