just me

Today it is me here
lying on my porch
face to the sky as I
listen
to the wind
sweeping through my
neighborhood
and nudging the trees,
encouraging them to
talk to me
once again.
Today it is me here
sharing space with
the world
as I study my trees
which have already begun
to change
into colors so vivid
my crayon box cannot
replicate them.
Today it is me here,
and I’m not vying for
this body
and it is only me for now
and this precious moment
is unique because
of the singularity
of voices
I hear inside.
Today it is me here
and I revel in this day
to myself
in the quietness of
the hour
and the stillness
of my usually
too chatty
soul.

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

