ephemera .2

Ahhhh…two of my favorite things today:

Rain and Ephemera.

Sunday my sister and I went to an old book and paper show.  Wow.  Don’t roll your eyes so hard, they might fall out.  It was cool!  You should try it before making fun of me and calling me a nerd.  Anyway the term is probably geek.  Twice a year my town hosts the biggest book and paper show in the “midwest”, and there are treasures like 1st editions, autograhped copies of bestsellers, rare books, miniature books, and loads and loads of ephemera!

I have a thing for ephemera. 

I only discovered recently that old crap like menus from resteraunts that are no longer around was called ephemera.  Well I’ve been collecting this stuff forever.  And at these book shows I get all the coolest stuff, like this fun book on old medicine for animals.

And this incredibly groovy meal ticket from an old hotel.

I wonder who this person was, and what there stay was all about.  Business meeting?  Clandestine rendezvous with a scandalously clad woman?  Running away from a gorey murder site he doesn’t want to be connected with?  Is that why he lost his appetite and never ate his meal?

And how about this treasure, my little green bottle?  What fabulous medicine was in here?  Nerve tonic?  Opium? (yummm)  Laudenum?  To add to its personal value, its from an old pharmacy here in my local town.

But this is my great find of the day – nay – of years!  My own Penny Dreadful, and he’s a rascally little guy…

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on April 3, 2012, in ephemera, faves and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. oh man, you are my HERO! i’ve only looked at the site for one second, and already i’m in love!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for the link!!!
    (and the support for my mental illness, BOOKNUTOPIA)

  2. Hi Denelle: Have you seen Forgotten Bookmarks (the website and the book) http://www.forgottenbookmarks.com/

    And I talked about the book:http://yearofreadingmybooks.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/whats-the-coolest-thing-youve-found-in-a-book/

    You definitely are NOT alone, Ruby

Leave a Reply

