accidental happiness: stardate~ 4.27.11

Used to be I was a drone bee, like all the other drone bees.  I would wake up at the ungodly hour of 6:00 in the morning, get ready, go to work, bustle about with whatever I was supposed to be doing -half asleep because I hadn’t had enough coffee – and spend the entire day doing what everyone else was doing, which was thinking about all the things we COULD be doing instead of working, like playing video games, or going to the movies, sleeping in, having sex, or spending some money at the local mall.  I told you, this was some time ago…I don’t really go to the mall that often anymore.  Unless I need some cute earrings from Claire’s, or something sassy from Hot Topic.  Shut up; yes I HAVE seen that South Park episode and it’s hilarious.  I still shop at Hot Topic.

Today makes me glad I finally gave up working the normal work-a-day business hours to go rogue.  It’s raining steadily right now at twelve noon.  I went for my walk, as the rain poured down on me, and breathed in the smell of toast that permeated the air.  Lunch time, I guess.  I still hadn’t had breakfast.  I had a chance to see a baby muskrat running through someone’s yard.  I got to hear the morning church bells, which always remind me of Switzerland.  I made myself a cup of coffee, wishing I had my secret ingredient to make it Russian style, and sat myself down to write out a little blog.  Perhaps I could squeeze in some work on my Twilight Zone project, if time allows. 

Back in the day I wouldn’t have the chance to do all this.  Back in the day, I would be collating paperwork right now, or ordering up lunch for some executives, or wondering why my boss’ deposit slip never seemed to match the till.  (hint:  weed growing in the back yard, which I didn’t find out about for a long while)  Back in the day I would have missed this glorious morning of green grass, mama Robins and soggy britches.  I would already be indoors, wanting to get out, waiting to be released from work so I could have an evening walk full of traffic and cars honking and people driving home hungry for dinner and drunks that started getting happy quite a while before the appointed hour.

So it’s a good thing I finally happened to start taking jobs that allowed me to go into work at 3:00, or 5:00 even.  And it’s a good thing I finally discovered I was a writer.  And also, not much of a morning person.

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Accidental Happiness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

