just me

 

Today it is me here

lying on my porch

face to the sky as I

listen

to the wind

sweeping through my

neighborhood

and nudging the trees,

encouraging them to

talk to me

once again.

Today it is me here

sharing space with

the world

as I study my trees

which have already begun

to change

into colors so vivid

my crayon box cannot

replicate them.

Today it is me here,

and I’m not vying for

this body

and it is only me for now

and this precious moment

is unique because

of the singularity

of voices

I hear inside.

Today it is me here

and I revel in this day

to myself

in the quietness of

the hour

and the stillness

of my usually

too chatty

soul.

About denelle

writer. artist. ponderer.

Posted on May 20, 2010, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. love your stuff as well, mon ami! 😀

  2. “and this precious moment
    is unique because
    of the singularity
    of voices
    I hear inside.”

    mmmm… the imagery is as vivid as those your crayons cannot replicate (:

    love your poems. keep at it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

